InMotion Hosting Review

0 21,473

Today I am here with another web hosting review. It’s about InMotion hosting. As their advertisements are everywhere you may know them by now. And also InMotion hosting is a big hosting company.

Started in 2011 and owns two data centers in Los Angeles and Virginia Beach. Now holds a customer base of more than 300,000 domains even. Additionally, they own Web Hosting Hub; more focused on bloggers and beginners.
Apart from being one of the older and more established names in the hosting industry, they always boast grandiose claims.
However, according to our experience, the biggest companies are the worst offenders. They keep neglecting the things that helped them to be successful while focusing on unnecessary ad campaigns.
So, we wanted to present to you the truth. We first bought an InMotion “Launch Plan” in June 2015 and set up a basic WordPress test website. You can see the statistics like uptime & speed by clicking here.
The below review mainly based on data, like uptime, load time (speed), and customer support experience.

 

Advantages of InMotion Hosting

The best features of InMotion Hosting are uptime, speed, and support. And there are some additional features to improve the user experience.
Let’s dig into them.

1. An uptime of 99.95% (Which is above average!)

The average uptime of InMotion Hosting was 99.95% based on our monitoring during the past two years. So, they are among the top 20!

Average uptimes of last year:

  • January 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2019 average uptime: 99.75%
  • October 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • September 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 99.74%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.95%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • April 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 99.98%

2. Customer Support 10/10

The company itself claims that they are a leader in web hosting customer support.
But, we are not ready to accept this at it is. Even from the beginning web hosting customer services have been unreliable and inefficient.
But, we were quite surprised while reviewing InMotion Hosting. We investigated the quality of their support team and conducted a detailed “Background Check” with the help of real customers as well. So that way we will be able to ensure that our interaction is not anomalous.

And we are pleased to report that the entire investigation completed with all positive results. We asked three questions from the customer service representative to assess their product knowledge and general efficacy.
The results were marvelous!
We just waited for about two minutes after submitting our ticket. A live agent came and he answered all our questions in a very professional way. Gladly the overall experience was surprisingly outstanding.

3. 90 Days Money Back Guarantee

Most of the money-back guarantees in industries last for about 30 days. But in InMotion, they offer a money-back guarantee up to 90 days to business, VPS, and reseller hosting plans. That itself shows us the confidence they have about their service.
(There is only a 30-day money-back guarantee for shared hosting options)

4. Integrations & Apps (including WordPress)

InMotion also claims that they are a pioneer in supporting Open Source projects.
Again that can be justified with a portfolio of more than 310 applications! You will be able to find everything from popular content management systems such as WordPress and Drupal to shopping carts or eCommerce systems such as Prestashop and Magento.

5. Premium Sucuri Plugin for WordPress users

Usually, the WordPress of InMotion Hosting has the Sucuri security plugin that scans your sites regularly for exploits and security risks apart from ongoing remote backups, anti-spam, and anti-virus protection.

6. Free Site Migration

Similarly, like the other web hosts, InMotion Hosting has offered to migrate your site for free from your current hosting.
But there is a bad thing too. They don’t assure zero downtime while the migration. But other hosts guarantee that always.

7. Great for E-commerce support

From the two web hosts who have active partnerships with Prestashop and other leading eCommerce services, InMotion Hosting is a one. (Another one is SiteGround)
They give you easy integrations with payment processors to make a better eCommerce experience. And thereby helping you even.

8. Google Apps Integration

InMotion also offers a simple three-step wizard to connect with Google apps.
Other web hosts make you pay for their subpar email clients. And even set up a Google App integration in order to use your new domain with Gmail, Google Docs, Drive, and much more. It will be really annoying if you are a newbie.

9. Super Secure Smartwall Threat Defense System (TDS)

Fortunately, InMotion Hosting doesn’t charge you to ensure the security of your private information. In collaboration with Corero Network Security, InMotion offers you a unique security measure named the Smartwall Threat Defense System or TDS. It is among the family of DDoS protection tools that are able to detect, mitigate, and eliminate DDoS attacks in real-time. And also they offer the following,

  • The Smartwall; a slimline DDoS protection tool that delivers 10Gbps full-duplex or 20Gbps unidirectional performance in a 1/4 wide, 1 RU form factor.
  • 1 RU gives up to 80Gbps and 4RU gives up to,320Gbps.

If you are not into technical jargon, I’ll explain this in a simple way. The Threat Defence System which is launched by InMotion Hosting and Corero Network Security is one of the best systems.

So you don’t have yo worry about the security of your website anymore.

 

Disadvantages of InMotion Hosting

Up to now, InMotion is perfect, right? But there are some issues with uptime and customer service. Let’s have a look at them.

1. Low advertised pricing ONLY for two-year signup

According to their advertisements, InMotion has a pretty good deal. However, you will be eligible for this advertised rate only if you are signing up for two years. Otherwise, the cost is a bit higher.
This is a quite common trick used by most of the hosting companies. They are kind of misleading you.

2. Slow Server Speed

Fast loading times are crucial for a website. It’s also a factor that is considered in Google algorithms.
The speed determines whether to keep or chase away your traffic. A slow page loading speed will actually half your traffic.
Sadly, the average page loading time of InMotion is only 824ms. Not adequate actually.

Average load times during last year:

3. Delayed Verification Process

For security purposes, InMotion requires phone verification for all new customers. So you won’t get instant account access following sign up. Mainly if you are outside the US. They will be asking for a picture of your ID card in rare cases.
According to our opinion, this lengthy verification process may discourage many potential customers, mainly international customers.

4. Some Plan Limitations

InMotion Hosting doesn’t offer free automated data backups. They will charge you $2 per month for that. And worse, you have to pay $1 per month for each additional 10 GB after the first 10 GB.

 

InMotion Hosting, Pricing, Hosting Plans and Quick Facts

You can see a quick overview of InMotion’s shared hosting/business Hosting plans below.

  • Launch Plan
    Starts from $3.99/month
    Supports two websites, two MySQL databases
    6 parked domains
    25 subdomains
  • Power Plan
    Starts from $5.99/month
    Supports 6 websites
    50 MySQL databases
    26 parked domains
    100 subdomains
  • Pro Plan
    Starts from $13.99/month
    Unlimited websites, MySQL databases, parked domains
    And unlimited subdomains

All shared hosting plans pf InMotion come with unlimited storage and bandwidth and the 90-day money-back guarantee.

  • WordPress Hosting
    Similar to shared hosting plans
    Fine-tuned for WordPress

 

  • Free Domain
    Yes
  • Ease of signup
    Four steps plus security verification. A bit lengthy.
  • Payment Methods
    Credit Card, Check, Purchase Order
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses
    There is a limit of 50,000 files per account for users
  • Upsells
    A few
  • Account Activation
    Take a while. Phone verification will be there before activating accounts
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience
    cPanel
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc)
    One-click installation with Softaculous

Do we recommend InMotion?

Yes and No.
Basically their uptime and support were adequate. However, their performance started to drop during the last few months. Now they are at the 22nd place. But you can try them if you are curious or so.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More